Alliedassault

Alliedassault (alliedassault.us/index.php)
-   MoH General Discussion (alliedassault.us/forumdisplay.php?f=7)
-   -   getting obj server up and running (alliedassault.us/showthread.php?t=11262)

Feanor 10-27-2002 09:18 PM

getting obj server up and running
 
hey all -

first, thanks for everyone's help who answered questins to help me get my first dm server up. kudos to all.

now -

i'm trying to set up a config file for an obj server, but i get errors on launch when it tries to open the obj maps.

here's my config file - i think the path to the maps is oncorrect so if anyone can tell me what i'm doing wrong i'd be grateful. thanks!

--------------

// Edit to fit your preferences.

// server name that will show up on the game browser or gamespy. Put your server name in the quotes
sv_hostname "Feanor's Noldor: MoH:AA OBJ | FF OFF | CK Mod"
// Admin is for your name
Admin "Feanor"

// msg of the day... doesn't seem to work
g_motd "Feanor's Noldor: MOHAA Objective Server Server"

// following four feilds do not show up any place that I know of yet.
URL "http://www.samnjoe.net/mohaasite/"
Email "feanorsnoldor@directvinternet.com"
Location "Florida"
Connection "DSL"

// reconpass sets your RCON passoword to allow for remote admin
seta rconpassword "xxxxxxx"

// maximum number of players allowed
sv_maxclients "8"

// gamet type 1=FFA 2=Teammatch 3=roundbased 4=objective
g_gametype 4

// minimum ping? why bother?
sv_minping "0"

//sv pure pak checker, does not allow clients to use PAK files the server doesnt have
//0=off 1=on
sv_pure 1

// I haven't figured out what this all does for me yet so commands are commented out
sv_floodProtect 1
//sv_flood_waitdelay 10
//sv_flood_persecond 4
//sv_flood_msg 4

//maxping keeps anyone with a higher ping than this value from connecting
sv_maxping "500"

// teamdamage friendly fire 0=off 1=on
g_teamdamage "0"

// allows Gamespy browser
sv_gamespy "1"

// inactivespectate is seconds of inactivity before moved to spectator
g_inactiveSpectate "60"

// inactive kick is seconds that a client will be kicked for inactivity
g_inactiveKick "900"

// max data transmit rate by clients on the server - depends on network
sv_maxrate 2171

// sv_fps 20

// allow downloads 0=off 1=on
sv_allowDownload 1

// time limit for game 0=no limit
timelimit "10"

//set frag limit to end game. 0=none
fraglimit "0"

//net-niopx disallows IPX connections, TCP only net port 12203
net_niopx 1

// sets the UDP port
net_port 12203

// map rotation for the server dm/mohdm5 snowy park
sv_maplist "obj_1 obj_2 obj_3 obj_4"

// starting map when launched
map obj_1

//Logging. This is needed for Stats - Do Not Remove
seta g_log "qconsole.log"
seta logfile 3
seta g_logsync 1

----------------------

thanks again!

rudedog 10-28-2002 05:51 AM

first off, I edited your post. did not know if that was your real rcon password biggrin:

I see one problem right away
[code:5ba8f]// map rotation for the server dm/mohdm5 snowy park
sv_maplist "obj_1 obj_2 obj_3 obj_4"

// starting map when launched
map obj_1 [/code:5ba8f]
Change to
[code:5ba8f]// map rotation for the server dm/mohdm5 snowy park
sv_maplist "obj/obj_1 obj/obj_2 obj/obj_3 obj_4"

// starting map when launched
map obj/obj_1 [/code:5ba8f]

You need to tell MOH what dir to look in, so you need the obj/ before the map name just like the dm/ before the map name in death match
If you have any more server questions, check out http://www.mohadmin.com and look under guides. I have sample dm / obj / and mixed server.cfg files up

Feanor 10-28-2002 06:54 AM

rude - okay so know its known - i'm a dope! thanks for changing that password for me.

i'll make those changes you suggested and see what happens.

okay - i made the changes and here the error i get in the console:

g_gametype will be changed upon restarting.
Can't find maps/obj/obj_1.bsp
Can't find map maps/obj/obj_1.bsp


so i guess i have another problem . . .

i'll look at the mohaa admin site and see what i can find. thanks again rude.

thanks.

The Plague of Death 10-28-2002 07:39 AM

seta sv_hostname "[84thUSMC]SNIPER ONLY SERVER 2 *DED*/4pvt slots"
seta g_motd "84th USMC by tisd.net"
sets URL "84th.xgameservers.com"
sets Connection "T3"

seta rconpassword "xxxxxx"

//seta password ""
seta sv_maxclients "16"

seta sv_privatepassword "xxxxxxxxxx"
seta sv_privateclients "4"

// 1=FFA 2=TeamMatch 3=RoundBased 4=Objective
set g_gametype 4
seta sv_minping "0"
seta sv_maxping "500"
seta g_teamdamage "0"
seta sv_gamespy "1"
seta sv_allowDownload "0"
seta sv_maxrate "8000"

set g_inactiveSpectate "0"
set g_inactiveKick "0"
seta timelimit "20"
seta fraglimit "40"

//seta sv_maplist "dm/mohddm3 dm/mmohdm2 dm/mohdm6 dm/mohdm7 dm/round_lol_v2_13"
//map dm/mohdm6

seta sv_maplist "obj/obj_team1 obj/obj_team2 obj/obj_team3 obj/obj_team4"
map obj/obj_team1


This is one of my cfg files for obj. it works just fine for me, the only thing i left out that you have in yours is logging for stats. hope htis helps.

rudedog 10-28-2002 08:52 AM

Death got the other mistake. your map name are also wrong. follow his maplist and map commands. Don't use the .bsp extension at the end and use the pk3 file name.

[code:22051]seta sv_maplist "obj/obj_team1 obj/obj_team2 obj/obj_team3 obj/obj_team4"
map obj/obj_team1 [/code:22051]

thanks Death. tried to reply too quickly b4 heading out to work.

SNYPE00 10-28-2002 08:53 AM

Feanor, copy the lines EXACTLY as listed below:

sv_maplist "obj/obj_team1 obj/obj_team2 obj/obj_team3 obj/obj_team4"
map obj/obj_team1

Rude messed up the map names a little thats why the error "Cant find map...."
Also to get rid of the "g_gametype will be changed upon restarting." problem, take that line out of your config and set the g_gametype in your command line of the mohaa.exe.
Heres how my command line looks:
"H:\Program Files\EA GAMES\MOHAA\MOHAA.exe" +set dedicated 1 +set ui_console 1 +set g_gametype 4 +set sv_maxclients 14 +map obj/obj_team1 +exec server.cfg

I set my gametype, number of players and starting map in my command line. I would recommend at least setting gametype at command line to avoid the restart errors.

rudedog 10-28-2002 11:51 AM

Thanks for helping him guys.

Ask judas, I always misspell the map name and lock up server biggrin:

Feanor 10-28-2002 01:46 PM

guys - thanks alot. i got the obj server up and running with all of your help! i appreciate it to no end. really thanks!

another question - where can i get the pk3 file that allows mixing obj and tdm maps?

i thought i saw someone post something about it, but now i can't find it.

you guys are the best!

SNYPE00 10-28-2002 01:51 PM

In the Downloads section:
http://www.alliedassault.com/pafiledb/p ... le&id=1178

Feanor 10-28-2002 02:26 PM

thanks alot SNYPE00.

again my thanks!


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:10 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by ScriptzBin
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
© 1998 - 2007 by Rudedog Productions | All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. All rights reserved.