Alliedassault           
FAQ Calendar
Go Back   Alliedassault > FPS Gaming General Discussion > MoH Maps, Mods & Skins
Reload this Page Mapping Questions
MoH Maps, Mods & Skins Discuss custom maps, skins and mods here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Mapping Questions
Old
  (#1)
r3mix is Offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 896
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Oz
   
Default Mapping Questions - 08-31-2002, 10:34 PM

Couple of things i need knowin before i finish the plan for a map...

1. Is it possible to have stuff respawn like ammo and medkits?

2. Is a how-to available for the team-specific minefield done in a few maps (Gemini?) for use around spawn points?

3. If a map is about a 1-quarter larger open areas and the rest dense buildings is there anything that can be done to look after FPS? Any of this stuff like blocksiz or hint brushes work for making these bits just as playable as the rest of the map?

r3mix
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#2)
G3mInI is Offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 270
Join Date: Mar 2002
 Send a message via ICQ to G3mInI  
Default 09-01-2002, 12:32 AM

as far as the med kits and stuff ... im not sure ... i never messed with that.....

minefield how to ....

i am going to post the original global/minefield.scr and then a modified one like the one i used in g3mini compound. i will point out the changes in the modified one.....

first the original script....

minefield local.index:

minefield_loop:
$minefield[local.index] waittill trigger

local.sucker = parm.other
local.sucker playsound mine_trigger

wait (randomfloat .5 + .5)

if (local.sucker istouching $minefield[local.index] == 1)
{
local.spawn_mine = (local.sucker.targetname + "_mine")
if ($minefield[local.index].type == "water")
{
spawn animate/fx_mortar_water targetname local.spawn_mine

local.spawn_mine = $(local.sucker.targetname + "_mine")
local.spawn_mine.origin = local.sucker.origin

local.spawn_mine anim start
local.spawn_mine playsound grenade_exp_water
//$player exec global/bullethit.scr (0 -1 0) 1000 50 1
radiusdamage local.spawn_mine.origin 4000 256
}
else
{
spawn animate/fx_explosion_mine targetname local.spawn_mine

local.spawn_mine = $(local.sucker.targetname + "_mine")
local.spawn_mine.origin = local.sucker.origin

local.spawn_mine anim start
//$player exec global/bullethit.scr (0 -1 0) 1000 50 1
radiusdamage local.spawn_mine.origin 4000 256
}

//*** remove the effect
wait 3
local.spawn_mine remove
}

goto minefield_loop

end


//**************************************
//*** single version minefield thread
minefield_single:
$minefield waittill trigger

wait (randomfloat .5 + .5)

if ($player istouching $minefield == 1)
{
spawn animate/fx_explosion_mine targetname player_mine_of_doom
$player_mine_of_doom.origin = $player.origin

$player_mine_of_doom anim start
$player exec global/bullethit.scr (0 -1 0) 1000 50 1
}
else
{
goto minefield_single
}

end


//*************************************************
//*** setup the minefields
//*** the level scripts should call this thread
//*************************************************
minefield_setup:
if ($minefield == NULL)
{
println "^~^~^ There are no minefields in the map!!!"
goto minefield_setup_end
}

/*
if ($minefield.size == 1)
{
thread minefield_single
goto minefield_setup_end
}
*/

for (local.i = 1 ; local.i <= $minefield.size ; local.i ++)
{
thread minefield local.i
}

minefield_setup_end:
end



now the one i used that i modified ......

minefield local.index:

minefield_loop:
$minefield[local.index] waittill trigger

local.sucker = parm.other
if (local.sucker.dmteam != axis) // <------ I added this line
goto minefield_loop // <------- and this line .... this will trigger the mine for any axis player ... if you want it for the allies then change the axis to say allies in the line above .... thats all there is to it
local.sucker playsound mine_trigger

wait (randomfloat .5 + .5)

if (local.sucker istouching $minefield[local.index] == 1)
{
local.spawn_mine = (local.sucker.targetname + "_mine")
if ($minefield[local.index].type == "water")
{
spawn animate/fx_mortar_water targetname local.spawn_mine

local.spawn_mine = $(local.sucker.targetname + "_mine")
local.spawn_mine.origin = local.sucker.origin

local.spawn_mine anim start
local.spawn_mine playsound grenade_exp_water
//$player exec global/bullethit.scr (0 -1 0) 1000 50 1
radiusdamage local.spawn_mine.origin 4000 256
}
else
{
spawn animate/fx_explosion_mine targetname local.spawn_mine

local.spawn_mine = $(local.sucker.targetname + "_mine")
local.spawn_mine.origin = local.sucker.origin

local.spawn_mine anim start
//$player exec global/bullethit.scr (0 -1 0) 1000 50 1
radiusdamage local.spawn_mine.origin 4000 256
}

//*** remove the effect
wait 3
local.spawn_mine remove
}

goto minefield_loop

end


//**************************************
//*** single version minefield thread
minefield_single:
$minefield waittill trigger

wait (randomfloat .5 + .5)

if ($player istouching $minefield == 1)
{
spawn animate/fx_explosion_mine targetname player_mine_of_doom
$player_mine_of_doom.origin = $player.origin

$player_mine_of_doom anim start
$player exec global/bullethit.scr (0 -1 0) 1000 50 1
}
else
{
goto minefield_single
}

end


//*************************************************
//*** setup the minefields
//*** the level scripts should call this thread
//*************************************************
minefield_setup:
if ($minefield == NULL)
{
println "^~^~^ There are no minefields in the map!!!"
goto minefield_setup_end
}

/*
if ($minefield.size == 1)
{
thread minefield_single
goto minefield_setup_end
}
*/

for (local.i = 1 ; local.i <= $minefield.size ; local.i ++)
{
thread minefield local.i
}

minefield_setup_end:
end


*** now that you have your modified minefield script ... rename it something different like mymap_minefield.scr In your main script call the up the script like this.... change the name of course to whatever you named it....

thread maps/obj/mymap_minefield.scr::minefield_setup

.....just make sure the path is correct... my map was an obj map

the last question you have can be a bit more complicated....

where are you trying to increase the fps ? in the buildings area or in the 1/4 outside area ?

depending on where, you can use manual vis to help out outside areas. I am going to provide g3mini compound map for download as this should help out some mappers out there. In it I use a variety of techniques, including manual vis. Check back in these forums soon for when I upload it to my personal webspace for download.

-g3mini
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
r3mix is Offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 896
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Oz
   
Default 09-01-2002, 01:24 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by G3mInI
the last question you have can be a bit more complicated....
where are you trying to increase the fps ? in the buildings area or in the 1/4 outside area ?
depending on where, you can use manual vis to help out outside areas. I am going to provide g3mini compound map for download as this should help out some mappers out there. In it I use a variety of techniques, including manual vis. Check back in these forums soon for when I upload it to my personal webspace for download.
what im trying to do is get away from the problem maps like das boot have where the open areas are almost unplayable due to the amount of map getting rendered.

so lets say my map is 2 x 4 in area... 2 of those blocks are wide open areas. what i dont want to have is players run round a corner into these and have FPS drop to zip.

the way im planning this is that these should be an alternate route for players but if the FPS is shit they wont be and you get chokepoints in other areas.

all i sorta know about at the moment is farplane so that in these areas you wont see the far side brushes/textures when you enter.

i remember reading about increasing block size for open maps but as i said only about quarter is like this and its 2 separate areas with the rest as buildings so im not sure if thats good for the rest of the map.

anyway ill have a look at what you do and probably scout out some quake tutorials for thi manual vis when i get to that stage. at the moment just considering whether i should change my blueprint if it cant be helped.

r3mix
  
Reply With Quote
Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by ScriptzBin
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
© 1998 - 2007 by Rudedog Productions | All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. All rights reserved.